Alphabetical Listing of Databases
Access Anytime, Anywhere
All databases can be accessed within the library. To use remotely, you'll need a valid MPLD library card number -- click on the name of the database and enter your library card number. There are two databases that do not allow access from home-- American Ancestors and Ancestry Library Edition.
-
American Ancestors Available only in the library. New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS). NEHGS is the country's leading resource for family history research. Whether your family came to this country in the 17th century or the 20th century, NEHGS offers access to an incredible collection of primary materials and other resources that can make your research productive and rewarding.
American History Online Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
-
Ancestry Library Edition™ Available only in the library. Complete U. S. Census records for
1790-1930, including military records, court, land and probate records, vital and church records, directories, passenger lists and more.
-
AtoZdatabases A premier reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
-
A to Z Maps Online The worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
-
Biography in Context Biographical information on more than 1 million people via video, audio clips and images of newsmakers and historical figures alike. Plus you can share content via various social networking sites.
Book Index Reviews A comprehensive database/selection guide that provides information on more than 5 million book titles, in a wide range of formats. BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from the sources that you trust: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and others.
BIR Entertainment provides information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles, with more being added regularly. With BIR, you can find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre.
-
Chilton's Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself-ers. Chilton's provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks.
-
Consumer Reports Online — offers independent test results and ratings of thousands of products, including appliances, cars, baby & kid products, electronics, foods, health & family recreation & home improvement Information that empowers consumers to make the best purchasing decision.
-
Culturegrams Want to know more about the world’s people? Start here! Learn about each country’s history, customs, government, and general attitudes. Listen to the national anthem, view photos, and try recipes. Read interviews in which people from around the world describe their challenges, ambitions, and everyday lives. From home: Click on this remote link.
-
Encyclopedia Britannica Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia. This is the library edition. From home: Click on this remote link. You'll be asked to enter your library card number.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more!
Financial Ratings Series Online Using a quick and easy search screen, you will have immediate access to financial strength ratings for more than 21,000 institutions, including banks, savings & loans, credit unions and insurers. Plus, get investment ratings for more than 6,000 stocks and 16,000 mutual funds.
-
First Search Search for full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications, and other sources on a wide variety of subjects from 16 different databases. The Statewide Illinois Library Catalog, known as SILC, is accessible through First Search, as is Find-it Illinois, Ask ? Away and WorldCat(alog). From home: Click on this remote link.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for different types of research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
-
General Reference Center Gold A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
-
Grolier's Helps both young and old with research and research skills, as well as with providing teachers, and librarians the important teaching and research tools that they need for their classrooms and media centers. Contains three encyclopedia databases — The New Book of Knowledge, The new Book of Popular Science, and Amazing Animals. From home: Click on this remote link. Enter your library card number for the user name; no password is needed.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
-
Heritage Quest A collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, Federal Censuses, and other genealogical content.
-
Illinois Public Records Scroll through Chicagoland’s public records — real estate transactions, mortgages, foreclosures, and more. Keep an eye on housing values in your community and help safeguard your biggest investment — your home. Sort by name, city, zip code, and more. From home: Click on this remote link. You'll be asked to enter your library card number.
-
Issues and Controversies Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Job & Career Accelerator Looking for a job? Want to change careers? Need help writing a resume or practicing for an interview? Use our newest database! Set up an account using your library card number for your username and a password of your choice. If you are already a registered LearningExpress Library user, you do not need to register again. Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from more than 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and plan, tailor, and track your progress for multiple job searches. This database is part of LearningExpress Library (below), which can help you aquire the skills and take practice tests needed for your new job. From home: Click on this remote link.
-
LearningExpress Library Interactive test preparation guides for the TOEIC, ASVAB, GRE, SAT, ACT, medical assisting, civil service, military, law enforcement, real estate, teaching, U.S. Citizenship Test, and other exams. Also includes courses on Microsoft and Adobe popular software, and a Job Search and Workplace Skills Center. From home: Click on this remote link.
-
Mango Languages Are you traveling abroad? Struggling with a language course at school? Trying to improve your English? Try Mango Languages! McHenry Public Library cardholders now have access to an online language-learning system that teaches conversational skills for 12 different languages, including Spanish, French, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, and Japanese. There are also ESL courses for those learning English and a translation tool for written text. Create a Mango account to keep track of your progress in the lessons today!
-
Modern World History Online Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
-
Newsbank Search current and past articles from our local Northwest Herald and more through this database, which also includes access to more than 30 popular national magazines.
-
NoveList Plus A comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction for adult readers.
-
NoveList K-8 Plus A comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. It has a fun and intuitive interface for younger readers.
Science Online Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
-
Small Engine Repair Reference Center A full-text database that provides step-by-step maintenance and repair procedures for hundreds of small engine machines and their components.
-
Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War A series of archival digital collections. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time -- personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches -- enabling users to study one of the key events in American history.
- World News Digest Brings together and enhances more than seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.







